Getting COVID For The First Time Put a Huge Pause On All My Goals

The pandemic has not gone away, as much as a lot of us like to pretend it has

Ryan Fan
5 min readJan 23, 2023
Photo by Kobby Mendez on Unsplash

For all intents and purposes, it seems like the pandemic is over in a lot of places. It sounds insensitive to say that as China undergoes an unprecedented COVID wave and when people are still dying from COVID every day, but even in a liberal city where schools stayed closed for a year and three months, I encounter very few people who still wear masks indoors on a daily basis.

I understand people have naturally just settled into normal life as politics has shifted away from restrictions. That’s why some days, unless you’re directly impacted by COVID still, it’s easy to forget the virus is still going around and people are still getting sick.

That complacency bit me in the ass just yesterday when I tested positive for COVID. I have avoided COVID since March of 2020 for almost three years. I thought there was a chance I could dodge it entirely, being someone who got both shots and a booster. But I started feeling a bit of a sore throat — it wasn’t as bad as the flu I had gotten in the fall, and it wasn’t even close. I thought one good night of sleep could get rid of the slightly raspy throat entirely, and it did feel better the next day.

--

--

Ryan Fan

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.” Support me by becoming a Medium member: https://bit.ly/39Cybb8